Administrative discharge, also called statutory discharge, cancels the entire student loan debt. The five (5) ways to discharge a federal student loan are as follows

  1. Closed School- The school’s closure while the student borrower was still enrolled.
  2. False Certification- The school’s false certification of the student borrower’s eligibility, including false certification due to forgery or identity theft.
  3. Unpaid Refund- The school’s failure to pay a refund owed to a student borrower.
  4. Disability- The borrower’s permanent and total disability.
  5. Death- The borrower’s death.

All of the above administrative discharges have detailed and specific requirements which must be met to qualify for such a discharge. It is best to consult with a qualified student loan attorney to understand the requirements and regulations.

  • 333 Washington Avenue North, Suite 300,
    Minneapolis, MN 55401
  • Phone: (612)349-2728
  • Fax:(612)349-2726

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advise. You should consult an attorney for individual advice regarding your own situation.

Pursuant to 11 U.S.C Section 528, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code."